A Public lecture on “The Science of Climate Changes” was held at the CDS on October 16, 2017. Before the commencement of the lecture, the Joan Robinson Prize for the best overall performance in the MA  economics programme was presented to Ms Divya Sebastian, and the MG Kanbur Prize for the best performer in the quantitative courses of the MA (Applied Economics) programme was awarded to Divya Sebastian and Shyam Agarwal.

Prof Sunil Mani, Director, pointed out that the two prizes have been made possible by the annual returns from the Joan Robinson Endowment and the MG Kanbur Endowment Funds. Certificates of merit along with a cash prize was handed over to Ms Divya Sebastian by Dr J Srinivasan, Honorary Professor, IISc  Bangalore. Shyam Agarwal was unable to attend the function.

Prof. Mani also announced that the MG Kanbur prize for the year 2016-18 would be awarded to Ms Himani Aggarwal and Ms Shubha Bhattacharyya in the year 2018.